October isn’t just a time for slutty Halloween costumes and sugar rushes — it’s also Celiac Awareness Month. People with celiac disease suffer an adverse reaction to foods containing gluten, which can damage the small intestine. The best treatment is prevention, which means a gluten-free diet. And plenty of people who don’t have celiac disease adopt a gluten-free diet because of a wheat allergy or for other health reasons.
But avoiding foods with gluten can be tough — crackers and breads spring to mind, but lots of other processed products contain gluten. That’s why we created this handy list of five food products to avoid if you’re following a gluten-free eating plan. Stick it on your fridge and cross these products off your shopping list to keep your diet free of gooey gluten. (Blisstree’s bad: Turns out, Jameson Irish Whiskey is actually gluten-free. Hey, when we’re wrong, we say we’re wrong! From Jameson’s website: “Yes, Jameson is gluten-free. This is because the distillation removes any residual cereal protein. In any event we do not use any gluten containing cereal (e.g. wheat) in our mash.”)
More from Blisstree: